Women winning in construction – ERWIC awards winners announced | Infrastructure news

The Construction Industry Development Board (cidb) hosted the prestigious Empowerment and Recognition of Women in Construction (ERWIC) Awards on the 24th of August 2022.

This year’s awards have 12 categories that recognise companies and individuals who support the gender transformation, development, and mentorship of women in the construction industry.

Attended by the Department of Infrastructure and Public Work’s Deputy Minister, Noxolo Kiviet, who in her impassioned keynote address congratulated the nominees and winners, and stated that the event held during Women’s Month celebrates the strength, dedication, and resilience of these women dedicated to building the country.

“These awards should always stand as the clarion call for gender transformation within the construction sector showcasing the strength of women and serving as a vision of what women can achieve when given the necessary support.”

CEO of the cidb, Bongani Dladla, stated the ERWIC Awards were developed to celebrate and encourage the development of women in the construction industry. He explained that the competition at the ERWIC awards has always been fierce, and this year was no different.

“The winners were all well-deserved and stood out in their respective categories.”

The Winners

The winner for Project Delivery Excellence of the Year Grade 1 was Boitsholo Trading and Projects CC for their Coega Feltex Trim Factory Pretoria project. Coming in at second place was Sbonzin Trading for their Upgrading of Gravel Roads to Surface Roads, including the associated Stormwater project.

Winning the Project Delivery Excellence of the Year – Grade 2 – 4 was Tumagole Trading Enterprise for the Renovations of the City of Johannesburg Recreation Centre project. In second place was Magiya Women’s Developers for their Construction of Stormwater in the Mhluzi Ward 25 project, while third place was awarded to Letsogo Trading Enterprise for their Upgrading of the Hans Coetzee Road project.

The Project Delivery Excellence of the Year – Grade 5 – 6 was Mampumi Trading for their Buhlebuyeta Primary School (Refurbishment of 13 classrooms) project. And in second place was Philcorn Group for the  Electrification of Driekoppies, Makaung, Malepetleke, Nghalalume project.

The Project Delivery Excellence of the Year – Grade 7 upwards was Oakantswe Construction & Projects for the Nellmapius Ext 22 (erf 1223 & 12224) project. In second place was Motheo Construction Group for the new Graaf Reinet TVET College project.

The Rural Project of the Year award winner went to Kgothatso Electrical for the Electrification of 50 Households in the Boikhutsong Village project. The second place was awarded to Africa Hlahla Investments for Upgrading of Arlington Access Road project, while third place went to Quantum Leap Investments 656 (Pty) Ltd for the Imvani 145 Low-Cost Housing project.

The Mentoring Entity of the Year was awarded to Thabomeleng Construction Group, in second place was Masoko Construction CC, and third place was awarded to Kgothatso Electrical.

The first-place winner for Transformation Entity of the Year went to Thabomeleng Construction Group, while KNM Projects was awarded second place.

The Innovative Entity of the Year was awarded to Bashoeshoe Investments and Projects, second place was Siphumelele Business Enterprice, and the third-place award was to Thabomeleng Construction Group.

The Business Resilience of the Year (COVID-19) was awarded to Quantum Leap Investments 656 (Pty) Ltd, while Moshiki and Letsogo Trading Enterprise were awarded second and third place awards, respectively.

The exciting Youth-Owned Women Construction Entity of the Year award was given to Yibanathi Mtirara from Magz Projects (Pty) Ltd, while second and third place was awarded to Mpumelelo Angel Lekhuleni from Mpumistone Projects and Kgothatso Matsogo from Kgothatso Electrical.

The Women-owned Construction Entity of the Year award went to Malebogo Lobelo from Lobelo Building Contractors, while Lynette Mazibuko from Lenda Construction and Supply Services and Mafani Nelly Dasheka from Quantum Leap Investments 656 (Pty) Ltd came in a close second and third place.

Itumeleng Mohoang from Thabomeleng Construction Group won the Women Mentor of the Year award.

And the Exceptional Woman in Construction Contributor of the Year award went to Itumeleng Mohoang from Thabomeleng Construction Group, in second place was Mafani Nelly Dasheka from Quantum Leap Investments 656 (Pty) Ltd, while third place was awarded to Faith Tshepiso Mabena from Nokhanya Services (Pty) Ltd. The awards concluded with the prestigious Chairman’s Award that went to Portia Tau Sekati.

Dladla indicated that the ERWIC awards were a resounding success, where the quality of entrants improves yearly.

“The unique and exciting Youth-owned Construction Entity award indicates the bright future of construction and women’s role in the industry. The quality of projects delivered, proven leadership through mentorship programmes, the resilience of some construction companies, and the winners of the awards of the coveted women-owned construction company of the year show the intent and purpose that the awards aim to celebrate – women belong and thrive in the construction industry.”

Additional Reading?

Request Free Copy