South African Member Committee of World Energy Council Launched | Infrastructure news

A South African member committee of the World Energy Council (WEC) has been officially launched under the auspices of the Energy Council of South Africa.

This committee comprises ten high-level energy professionals from both public and private sectors. The members are:

  • Jacob Mbele, Director-General of the Department of Mineral Resources and Energy
  • Matthew Mflathelwa, General Manager of Strategy and Planning at Eskom
  • Dr. Titus Mathe, CEO of the South African National Energy Development Institute
  • Thabo Molekoa, CEO of Siemens Energy
  • Peter Venn, CEO of Seriti Green
  • Rentia van Tonder, Head of Power at Standard Bank Corporate and Investment Banking
  • Rosalind Dos Santos, Energy Manager at Mpact Group and member of the Energy Intensive Users Group
  • Martin Mthembu, Senior Regional Electrical Engineer at Sappi
  • Professor Harro von Blottnitz, Director of the Energy Systems Research Group at the University of Cape Town
  • Professor Cristina Trois, Director of the Centre for Renewable and Sustainable Energy Studies at Stellenbosch University
The inaugural meeting of the WEC South Africa Member Committee took place on May 15. The committee aims to leverage WEC’s global networks to adopt best practices in market reforms, energy provision, and sustainability. Additionally, it seeks to foster dialogue across the energy sector, becoming a key voice in energy debates and policy development. The committee will also focus on the regulations and frameworks necessary for a sustainable energy sector.

James Mackay, CEO of the Energy Council of South Africa, who led the launch, emphasized that the formation of the WEC South Africa Member Committee is intended to promote inclusivity and enhance collaboration among a diverse range of stakeholders.

Additional Reading?

Request Free Copy