Entries are open for the 2024 cidb ERWIC Awards: Now featuring 3 new categories | Infrastructure news

The Construction Industry Development Board (cidb) is thrilled to announce the opening of entries for the 2024 Empowerment and Recognition of Women in Construction (ERWIC) Awards. Now in their fifth year, the ERWIC Awards continue to set new standards in celebrating the achievements of women in the construction industry. Entries are open and will close on 28 June 2024.

“The ERWIC Awards play a crucial role in recognising and honouring the exceptional contributions of women in the construction industry,” says cidb CEO Bongani Dladla. “As we mark the fifth year of these prestigious awards, we are excited to see them evolve and grow, reflecting the expanding roles and contributions of women in construction.”

The 2024 edition of the ERWIC Awards introduces three new game-changing categories to recognise the diverse talents within the industry. The Interior Design and Build Project of the Year Award celebrates the expertise and creativity of women professionals in the interior construction sector. Specialised Project of the Year Award acknowledges women-owned construction entities successfully completing projects in specialised works. Manufacturing Entity of the Year Award aims to recognise manufacturing entities supplying the construction sector and their continued impact on women in the industry through employment strategies, empowerment programmes and significant transformation.

With 3 new categories, this year’s cidb ERWIC Awards categories include:

  1. Project Delivery Excellence of the Year – Women-owned Construction Entity
  2. Rural Project of the Year
  3. Interior Design and Build Project of the Year
  4. Specialized Project of the Year
  5. Mentoring Entity of the Year
  6. Transformation Entity of the Year
  7. Innovative Entity of the Year
  8. Professional Team of the Year
  9. Manufacturing Entity of the Year
  10. Youth-owned Woman Construction Entity of the Year
  11. Woman-owned Construction Entity of the Year
  12. Woman Mentor of the Year
  13. Women with Disability Contractor of the Year
  14. Exceptional Woman in Construction Contributor of the Year
  15. Chairman’s Award
Judges for these prestigious awards are leaders within the construction industry, and following an externally audited adjudication process, the awards ceremony will take place on 22 August 2024, coinciding with Women’s Month, underscoring the importance of female empowerment and recognition.

The cidb believes that the fifth cidb ERWIC Awards will once again raise the standard, showcasing the remarkable quality and impact of projects led by women in construction. These awards not only recognise excellence but also aim to inspire future leaders and drive continued progress toward a more inclusive industry. All women in construction and entities supporting female professionals are encouraged to enter these awards and participate in this prestigious event. To find out more, visit www.erwicawards-cidb.co.za

Aligned with the Construction Industry Development Board Act 38 of 2000 (CIDB Act), the cidb regulates and advances the construction industry through strategic interventions and partnerships. The construction regulator endeavours to cultivate a comprehensive and reputable industry, where all participants equally contribute to driving the construction sector forward.

Additional Reading?

Request Free Copy