Airports Company South Africa is calling on the public to submit comments and proposals for the renaming of four national and international airports.

Cape Town International Airport, East London Airport, Port Elizabeth International Airport and Kimberley Airport are subject to renaming as part of government’s Transformation of Heritage Landscape programme.

All proposals and comments should be sent to Airports Company South Africa by close of business on Wednesday 6 June 2018. Proposals and comments may be sent by e-mail to or hand-delivered to the Airports Company South Africa office at the nearest airport.


According to ACSA an application will be made to the relevant Geographical Names Provincial Committee for processing by Airports Company South Africa. These committees will verify that the applications comply with the guidelines in the national Handbook on Geographical Names which includes checking that the name is not offensive or a duplication of an existing one.

“The provincial committees will then forward the applications to the South African Geographical Names Council (SAGNC) which is responsible for geographical features. The council will then take a decision on the form or forms of names and recommend them for the Minister of Arts and Culture’s approval.”


Once the names have been approved by the Minister they will then be published in the Government Gazette and a period of 30 days is required for any objections to be submitted in response to the Government Gazette.

Should any objections be received, the Minister of Arts and Culture will assess them before a final decision is published in the Government Gazette.

The Department of Transport and Airports Company South Africa will then implement the official names as soon as possible.


Additional Reading?

Request Free Copy